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WHAT YOU NEED  
TO KNOW

MANDATED REPORTERS

Virginia Department for Aging and  
Rehabilitative Services

l �Burns, welts, scratches, bruises, cuts

l �Fractures, dislocations, sprains

l �Striking or hitting the adult

l �Threatening or belittling the adult

l �Genital injury or presence of sexually 
transmitted disease

l �Untreated medical conditions 

l �Malnourishment or dehydration
l �Rodent or bug infestations 

l �Lack of necessary medication or medical 
devices such as a walker or dentures

l �Soiled or inadequate clothing

l �No heat, running water or electricity in  
the home

l �Depleted financial accounts 

l �Personal belongings or valuables that disappear

l �Misuse of the adult’s credit or debit card

l �New credit cards taken out in the adult’s name

l �Sudden change to a will or other financial 
documents

Abuse Hurts at Any Age
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WHAT RIGHTS DO MANDATED 
REPORTERS HAVE?

l �Immunity from civil and criminal liability unless 
the reporter acted in bad faith or with a malicious 
purpose.

l �The right to have his/her identity remain 
confidential unless consent to reveal his/her 
identity is given or unless the court orders that 
the reporter’s identity be revealed.

l �The right to written notification when the 
investigation has been completed.

WHAT ARE MANDATED REPORTERS 
REQUIRED TO REPORT? 
Mandated reporters are required to report 
suspected abuse, neglect or exploitation of adults 
age 60 or older or incapacitated adults ages 18-59. 

WHAT INFORMATION SHOULD 
MANDATED REPORTERS PROVIDE?
Reporters should provide the name, age and 
address or location of the person who is suspected 
of being maltreated and as much information about 
the situation as possible.

WHAT IS THE TIMEFRAME FOR MAKING 
REPORTS? 
“Immediately” as required by Virginia law  
§ 63.2-1606.

IS THERE A PENALTY FOR  
FAILURE TO REPORT? 
Yes, up to $500 for the first failure to report and up 
to $1,000 for subsequent failures. 

WHO IS MANDATED TO REPORT?

Any person licensed, certified, or registered 
by health regulatory boards listed in § 54.1-
2503, except persons licensed by the Board of 
Veterinary Medicine.

This includes:
l �Physicians, Nurses, Physician Assistants, and  

Certified Nurse Aides

l �Licensed Professional Counselors

l �Dentists and Dental Hygienists 

l �Nursing Home and Assisted Living Facility 
Administrators 

l �Respiratory Therapists

l �Optometrists 

l �Pharmacists and Technicians 

l �Physical and Occupational Therapists

l �Psychologists

l �Social Workers

l �Behavior Analysts

Abuse Hurts at Any AgeCall the Adult Protective Services Hotline at (888) 832-3858.

WHERE DOES A MANDATED REPORTER 
MAKE A REPORT? 

To the local department of social services or the 
toll-free 24-hour APS hotline at (888) 832-3858. 
Find your local department at dss.virginia.gov.

ARE THERE OTHER RESPONSIBILITIES 
FOR MANDATED REPORTERS?
To provide records and information related to any 
report of abuse, neglect or exploitation to the 
APS worker regardless of who made the report.

IS THERE TRAINING FOR MANDATED 
REPORTERS?
Yes, there is a free e-learning training module for 
mandated reporters at https://vadars.org/aps/
AdultProtServ.htm

As well as:

l �Mental health services providers as defined in  
§ 54.1-2400.1

l �Certified emergency medical services (EMS)  
personnel unless EMS immediately reports 
the suspected maltreatment to the attending 
physician at the hospital where the adult was 
transported 

l �A guardian or conservator of an adult

l �A person employed by or contracted with a public 
or private agency or facility and working with 
adults in an administrative, supportive or direct 
care capacity

l �A person providing full, intermittent or occasional 
care to an adult for compensation, including but 
not limited to companion, chore, homemaker and 
personal care workers

l �Law-enforcement officers


